Thursday, December 29, 2011

Mozart's Last Aria by Matt Rees


I have been wanting to read this book ever since it came out. I received 3 Barnes and Noble gift cards for Christmas so I bought this book for my Color Nook. I love the cover photo! The blue in the dress is absolutely stunning-it caught my eye right away! Here is a synopsis of the book from Goodreads.com:

Award-winning author Matt Rees takes readers to 18th century Austria, where Mozart’s estranged sister Nannerl stumbles into a world of ambition, conspiracy, and immortal music while attempting to uncover the truth about her brother’s suspicious death. Did Mozart’s life end in murder? Nannerl must brave dire circumstances to find out, running afoul of the secret police, the freemasons, and even the Austrian Emperor himself as she delves into a scandal greater than she had ever imagined. With captivating historical details, compelling characters, and a real-life mystery upon which everything hinges, Rees—the award-winning author of the internationally acclaimed Omar Yussef crime series—writes in the tradition of Irvin Yalom’s When Nietzsche Wept, Louis Bayard’s The Pale Blue Eye, and Phillip Sington’s The Einstein Girl to achieve the very best in historical fiction with Mozart’s Last Aria.

There is nothing better than a historical fiction and a mystery all rolled into one in my opinion! I will let you know what I think of this book when I'm done reading it.

8 comments:

jenclair said...

What a fantastic cover! Yes, I'm definitely adding this one to my list, Sherri. Can't wait to hear what you think.

Darlene said...

I can't wait for your thoughts on this one. My library has an e-copy so I'll be reading it. I adore this cover. It is so pretty!

Donna said...

Sounds so good! I think I'll be adding this one to my list. Love the cover of the book.

Hugs,
Donna

NanaDiana said...

I will be anxious to hear how you like the book. It is on my "to read" list~ xo Diana

Kay said...

Oh what fun! I love historical fiction!

Debbie said...

Gorgeous cover! This is a great time of year to curl up with a good book.
Enjoy!
xxxooo

Maya @ Completely Coastal said...

I agree, the cover is stunning. Would love to see this as a movie!!

Happy, happy New Year!!!

Mary said...

Funny how often a startlingly beautiful cover can draw me to a book......this one is awesome. Looking forward to your review after reading - I think I might enjoy it too.

As we come upon a New Year, my wishes for you, John, and your family are threefold - good health, every happiness, and prosperity (may John soon get new and great job).

Thank you Sherri for always stopping by and leaving such delightful comments. Hopefully we'll have another chance to meet up again one of these days.

Much love, happy 2012
Mary


Ring of Kerry, Ireland
My husband, John and I went to Ireland for our 25th Wedding Anniversary in 2004. We had an awesome trip and we will never forget it. We actually got to visit our friends who live in Northern Ireland. We spent 3 wonderful days with them! The picture above was taken when we visited The Ring of Kerry. The beauty of Ireland is just spectacular! If you ever get a chance visit there.
Megan is my oldest daughter. She and Ken were married on April 12, 2008. It was a wonderful ceremony and reception!
Jenny and Kevin at their wedding 8/30/08. The wedding was at our home and turned out wonderful! Everyone had such a good time!